Wine World as Found in Kennedyville

As many of you know, I enjoy drinking wine, but I don’t like to have to spend big bucks on it.  I’m particularly bad in a restaurant, when I see the wine mark-ups.  I know not to just head for the cheapest wine on the list – which is usually the most highly marked-up – but it is very difficult for me to spend the 30 or 40 dollars minimum often required to enjoy a bottle of wine with my meal.  Part of my limitations – besides being cheap frugal –   is that I do not have the greatest palate of all time, so I sometimes feel like those more high-end wines are pretty  much wasted on me.

In a liquor store it is a little easier, and if you have done your homework, you can score the “best buys”.  I don’t want to spend a lot more than $10 or $12 for a bottle of wine I’m going to drink with my Tuesday night dinner.  Maybe I’ll splurge a bit on Friday or Saturday and go up a few dollars, but rarely, if ever, more than $20.  That’s for Christmas and New Years.  I typically like to get those “everyday” wines that are imminently drinkable, without pulling more than a Jackson out of my wallet.  And while I can dig why Ridge Zinfandels are really stand-out red wines, I wouldn’t want to  drink them everyday.

After that very wordy intro, here is the list of wines currently available for off-premise at the K-B Market:

  • Segura Viudas Brut Rosé : This sparkling rosé from Spain is an easy pick for anything celebratory –  from a welcome home to the new puppy, Happy 21st Birthday, to TGIF – because it is delicious and very, very reasonably priced.  It is fresh and juicy, with citrus-y strawberry flavors, a light acidity and many tiny bubbles to stimulate the palate.  Made in the methode champenoise style from a blend of 90% Trepat and 10% Grenache, this Cava will be your next house “Champagne”.  In stock for $10.00
  • Piccini Memoro Rosato: Of course we’ve got a rosé on board!  This non-vintage Italian pink is a blend of Negroamaro, Montepulciano, Nero d’Avola and Merlot.  This is a light and well-balanced wine, with clean, fresh berry flavors, ready for the Patio.  In stock for $9.00
  • Veramonte Sauvignon Blanc 2013: Sauvignon Blanc is my go-to grape, ninety percent of the time.  I’m not a real fan of the overly grapefruit-y style you sometimes find, so I was extremely pleased to find  this Chilean offering that seems to blend the bright citrus flavor of grapefruit with other, more mellow tropical fruit,  to produce a friendly dry wine with good acidity.    In stock for $9.00
  • Casaleiro Reserva Vinho Regional Tejo 2012: The link for this wine will take you right to the Wine Enthusiast’s 90 point review for this “best buy” red: “fine ripe wine, full structured with tannins supported by delicious red fruit”.  Portuguese red wines are typically a great value, but not too many are readily available in this area; this one is In stock for $9.00
  • Montevina Barbera 2009: The people at Montevina have been growing Barbera in Amador County since the early seventies.  This example has red fruit up front but remains dry on the palate with balanced acidity.  It is full-bodied enough to marry well with all but the heartiest of meals, including seafood.  In stock for $11.00
  • Mas Carlot Costières de Nîmes 2013: Another 90 pointer from the Wine Enthusiast, this French blend of Grenache, Syrah and Mourvedre “shows considerable weight and richness for the price”.  A deep ruby hue brings forth spicy fruit, with a nice finish of dried berry and honey.  This delicious wine will impress your wine-drinking friends at your next dinner party.  In stock for $10.00
  • Stone Cap Merlot 2013: This Washington State perennial “best buy” is a very flavorful selection from the Columbia Valley.  Along with a mixed basket of fruit, there can be found hints of espresso and toffee in this medium bodied wine.  This Merlot is currently the house red in the K-B Kitchen.  In stock for $9.00

There you have it, the current selection available for off-premise purchase at the K-B Market and Kitchen School.  Our hours are a bit sporadic, so call us at 410-348-3142 for more information – we are here most days, but we’d hate to miss you!

Leave a comment